Packing In

People don’t notice how much stuff they have, until it must all fit in a few boxes. It’s amazing how much stuff you can find that you never knew you had. The worst is deciding what must be left in storage and what must come with you. That is the dilemma I’m facing at the moment.

I’m busy packing my university dorm room, because it’s holidays over here and I’m not allowed to leave any stuff behind as the university rents out the residences for foreigners. It’s a really silly concept if you ask me, as some of the residences aren’t even being used during the holidays. Oh well, I can’t go against the system. It’s been like that for years now. It’s one of the ways the University of Stellenbosch gains an income.

My messy room

My tiny room… Packing is in progress…

So I’ve started packing, while listening to Gotye from my computer. One thing I must say, is that I have a lot of crap! About 50% of the stuff in my room are pieces of paper; notes and articles I’ve used for projects and such. This is where I realise that I’ve got a serious condition: I’m a pack-rat.

It’s actually pretty bad. Not serious yet, but just irritating. I find it hard to let go of the most useless things in my room, because I think I might have some use for them later. In the end I never do use them again, only in some cases have I found a minor use for them, but that’s as far as it goes.

While I’m deciding what to store, throw away or take with me, I come across old memories. It’s almost like reliving the year that has passed. Some memories are good ones and some are bad ones. Why do I hold onto these things that now mean nothing at all? It’s no use for me to keep this junk.

One misconception that pack-rats, like myself, carry is that we think keeping this junk will prevent us from forgetting. We’re scared of forgetting the memories that brought us here.  It’s the one aspect that we must try to forget, because letting go doesn’t mean that you will forget. Letting go means that you are not allowing it to have a hold on you.

Emo stuff, right?

Don’t worry, I’ve sorted out that “letting go” stuff long ago. That’s one thing I’m sure of as I watch the plastic bins being filled up with my crap. I’m almost finished packing now. Time flies when you pack and type at the same time. Nope, letting go is no longer a problem.

My problem at the moment is: how am I going to get my over-weight baggage on the airplane tomorrow?

Dante…

About Gay Idiot

I'm a gay idiot, but somehow I am making it through this jungle called life. I have no idea what I'm doing!!
This entry was posted in Life Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

