Multitasking… FAIL!

I’m a person of diversity when it comes to things I want to achieve. I want to write stories, draw and make art, read as much books as I can, etc. The main problem is that I get distracted. Having a long holiday means that I want to accomplish as much as possible. In order to do this, I need to give each goal a certain amount of time and dedication a day so that each goal progresses, even if it’s on a slow-ish pace. Then along comes my scumbag brain.

I’m not sure if it’s a medical condition or something that I need to control, but it’s destroying all of my plans. I get distracted easily… very easily. Sometimes it’s a conscious distraction, but mostly it’s just that I can’t focus. It’s causing me to fall behind on everything.

I’ve recently started writing for OriginalGreasySpoon.com, which is awesome, since no one has asked me to write for them before, but I feel retarded. At the current pace I’m going, I’m giving them 1 article per week. What frustrates me is that it takes me a week to complete it, when I could complete it in maybe 3 or 4 days with enough dedication. It’s not that I don’t know what to write about (I’ve got a list of things that I want to write about), it’s that I’m doing other things as well.

WorkInProgress

Work In Progress for some concept art…

Multitasking is probably one of my weak-points. Apart from writing for OGS and this blog, I’m also working on a story that I’ve been working on for a year now, and I’m trying to draw concept art and sketches for a story that I want to turn into a comic. I’m also trying to read a lot. Currently, I’m busy with Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins and Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf, at the same time. I also need to read Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte and Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare for my English 178 module, and do my French 178 assignments, before the end of the holidays.

Apart from all that, I need to connect with old friends, hang out with the family, catch up on news, watch movies with friends, try to teach my 17 year-old sister how to drive AND eat, sleep and all the other mandatory daily things.

That’s a lot, and I need to fit everything in. Can you guess what my distractions are? The internet (more specifically 9GAG, Facebook and YouTube) and crappy TV shows. If they didn’t exist, then I would have accomplished more with my life. They are the reason why I can’t multitask! I suppose I can only blame myself. What I’m lacking in is focus. How does one go about increasing this focus?

I want my soul back, 9GAG…

One small solution I have found to be quite helpful is coffee. I love my coffee. It’s  inspiration for the soul! Sometimes I drink about 5 or 4 cups of coffee a day, but it’s mostly when I need the inspiration. Exercise is also helpful. Even though I hate exercise, I find that it puts me in a zone where I’m able to put my thoughts in order. That’s good, but I wish it didn’t make me so tired afterwards.

Different people have different methods to focus. What’s yours? Well, I will get to everything I want to do, eventually. It  just take me some time. Now, if you will excuse me, there is a book that is craving my attention and won’t stop screaming until I pick it up.

Dante…

About Gay Idiot

I'm a gay idiot, but somehow I am making it through this jungle called life. I have no idea what I'm doing!!
This entry was posted in Life Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

