BRAINFART!!!

You know those sudden moments of inspiration that just hit you out of nowhere? I had that last night… at midnight! I had just finished Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins (might do a review soon) and prepared myself to go to sleep. I usually read in the evenings, seeing that it’s the only time when I don’t have to concentrate on something else. Just as I turned the light out and rolled onto my side, I felt my brain buzz.

I don’t know how to describe it.  It’s a weird sensation. It feels like pressure is building up inside my head and I have to find a way to relieve that pressure, hence the term ‘brainfart’.

My eyes were wide open. Suddenly I wasn’t sleepy anymore and then panic started to rise in me. I had to write. I had to write! Write, write, write! I jumped from my pen and put my desk lamp on. Looking around the room I tried to find my notebook. It’s a specific notebook that I use to write down all my ideas that I want to use eventually. I found it, but then I realised something, I had no pens. I had an abundance of pencils, but I don’t like writing in pencil (pencils are for sketching!). I looked everywhere. Then I found an old pen in the back of my desk drawer and was surprised, and relieved, that it still worked.

In my bed, with the notebook, and the pen, with the light on, I started to write. At first it was just random things (like literally writing “I must write” – I do this to start the flow of the writing), but then I wrote solid ideas down for a story I’m working on. It felt good! I started writing about 00:20 in the morning and wrote until 1:30. Even after I wrote down all my ideas, draining the brain, I still couldn’t sleep. I was too excited, and I was also very scared. What if this feeling never comes again?

Ignore horrible handwriting…

I don’t think I should worry too much about whether or not it will come back again. As long as I desire to write, the brainfarts will come back. Only thing I’m worried about though is about timing. Will my brainfarts only come to me at midnight? I seriously hope not. Even if it does, I will be ready, with my notebook and my pen right next to my bed. I find that my writing flows better at night, because then my brain does not over-think (which I tend to do)

I’m so excited to work on this project now! I think I might not sleep tonight… Let’s hope other life stuff won’t interfere with my work.

Dante…

About Gay Idiot

I'm a gay idiot, but somehow I am making it through this jungle called life. I have no idea what I'm doing!!
This entry was posted in Writer things... and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BRAINFART!!!

  1. Zen says:

    I don’t think you have to worry about that feeling never coming back. I think people with insomnia especially experience that a lot!

    • Dante says:

      It’s not that I have insomnia (not that I know of at least), it’s just that my brain does not co-operate with me… most of the time, which then results in confusing situations. It’s a constant struggle, but one I shall, one day, conquer.
      Thanks for the comment! 😀

Leave a Reply

