Very short review of “The Cabin in the Woods”

I called this a very short review, because if I elaborate too much, then I might spoil the movie for you.

In a nutshell, The Cabin in the Woods is about a group of 5 teenagers that go to the woods to stay in a cabin. Something happens and zombies come to haunt them. However, they are not alone.

Sound familiar? Think you know what’s going to happen? Think again!

I’m telling you now that there is more lurking beneath the surface of the movie than meets the eye. Not only is it really scary at most parts, but it’s also funny and strange and is done really cleverly throughout the movie.

The acting was actually very good, with a stellar cast, and did not feel forced at all. The stereotypical characters were all there, but that was the point of the movie. All that might have irritated me acting-wise was the stoner character’s choice for delivery of dialogue.

Meta-fictional elements play a very important role in the  movie. They way it analysis its own mechanics in the movie is just so fascinating to watch. Actually, if you think about it carefully, this movie explains other typical horror movies quite well.

What made the movie move just a smidge above awesome was Sigourney Weaver’s appearance at the end of the movie. I love that woman so much!

I wish I could write more, but I’m afraid if I tell you more, then I’m going to spoil everything for you. You’ll see what I mean if you watch it.

Bottom line: Go watch it! Even if you’re not such a big fan of horror movies, go watch it for the intricate meta-fiction!

9/10

About Gay Idiot

I'm a gay idiot, but somehow I am making it through this jungle called life. I have no idea what I'm doing!!
This entry was posted in Film, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

