The New Year and Everything That Comes With It

Yes, people, it’s 2013!

I can’t believe 2012 is done for, and the world didn’t even end… how slightly disappointing…

Together with 2013 comes a whole bunch of challenges and promises, but most of all comes the mindset that you might actually achieve something this year, which usually lasts about a day or a week, tops. BUT! hopefully I will be able to change that!

No longer will I be happy with being that idiot that talks and talks about getting things done, but achieving nothing. Gone are the days of fruitless dreaming and waiting for the inspiration train (it doesn’t exist, people, just like writer’s block!!!) to hit me.

I must set goals for myself. Here is a bunch of my 2013 Resolutions:

  1. Write first draft of first book
  2. Read and review 24 books
  3. Write a short story every 2 weeks
  4. Write 2 plays (one 1-Act play, one 2-or-3-Act play)
  5. Draw and make art!

This list may seem a little far-fetched, but it actually has to be. See, in order to make any progress at all you have to set unrealistic goals, because then even if you achieve a quarter of what you’ve done, then you’ve actually made more progress than you would have if you haven’t set any goals. You might feel mighty lousy, but you’ll get over it by 2014.

I’m actually already busy with my first book for 2013, which is Animal Farm by George Orwell. So far it’s a really great book, and with the introduction in my  edition I find the history behind the story absolutely fascinating. When I’m finished with it, I’ll do a review.

The 2 plays is a goal that I have to achieve whether I like it or not, for two reasons: one play is one I’m being commissioned for by my friend who is head of Culture of her PSO (private student organization), and the other is for Maties Drama Society, for which I am the Chairperson and I want to write a play for this year. Should be a hectic year.

The short stories is part of my farfetchedness. I might not be able to achieve it, but I will damn-well try! If I don’t try, will I ever achieve anything. I’ve got several ideas anyway, so I’m going to try my heart out!

The draft is the trickiest, because I change my mind almost every hour. It’s hard to stick with an idea long enough to squeeze a draft out of it, but I think I have an idea I would like to try. To help me in this regard, I’m going to try to write 100 words every day for the draft in 2013, which is not that big of a word count and will help me to get into the habit of just writing. I will push up the word count as time goes on and I’m able to write more in a shorter amount of time.

The fifth point is a vague point, because I would rather focus on my writing more this year. Maybe I’ll feel inspired enough to create art for my stories, so that’s how I’ll incorporate it into this year.

Anyway, that’s about it. I’ll try to write daily about my progress and how it’s going. I put “try” there, because you all know that I’m not capable of such things…

Haha!

Ha…

See you guys later!! 😀

Dante…

 

P.S. What are your New Year’s Resolutions for 2013? What are you planning to do to increase your writing efficiency?

About Gay Idiot

I'm a gay idiot, but somehow I am making it through this jungle called life. I have no idea what I'm doing!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The New Year and Everything That Comes With It

  1. Roy Robinson says:

    You’re off to a good start with a New Years Day post!

  2. Zen A. says:

    Well, Dante, you already know my resolutions! I like what you said here: “See, in order to make any progress at all you have to set unrealistic goals, because then even if you achieve a quarter of what you’ve done, then you’ve actually made more progress than you would have if you haven’t set any goals.” – it’s so true. Setting a big goal can be a great motivator!

    As for your art, maybe you could include a small sketch at the beginning of each chapter, kinda like in the Harry Potter books (American edition)?

    Good luck with all your goals! 🙂

    • Dante says:

      I have actually thought about including drawings with my writing. It’s kinda like a “kill two birds with one stone”…

      Thanks! 😀 And good luck with your goals!

Leave a Reply

