Day of Amazing News!!!

I woke up this morning feeling surprisingly awake. This is really strange since this last week was filled with overslept mornings. It was a nice change. I thought that it meant that goods things were destined for this day. Although it was still a rather unproductive day, I received a lot of news that I could look forward to for this year.

In a nutshell, the news includes Dido, Patrick Ness, Neil Gaiman and The Sims 3.

First up is Sims 3 with The Sims 3: University Life!

from sims.wikia.com

As some of you may or may not know, I have been playing sims since the first one (all those years ago).I used to collect those expansion packs like they were medicine. Although it was when my expenses didn’t included food, textbooks and other essential things I need. Nowadays, for Sims 3, I don’t buy every expansion pack that is released because I need to spend my money wisely and I don’t have much time for Sims at university as it is.

However I have started playing Sims 3 again this year and couldn’t stop. When I heard that University Life was going to be released I got very excited. Sims 2 University was my 2nd favourite expansion pack (my 1st favourite being a tie between Pets and Open for Business).

I can’t wait for University Life to be released in March somewhere! Ah, young sims learning and making fools of themselves. I wonder how the game mechanics are going to differ. Are the sims going to a different lot leaving other sims behind? What if I want to play with my student and other family at the same time? We’ll have to wait and see how the mechanics differ.

Next up is Dido!

from Dido’s Blog

I’ve been a Dido fan since I can remember. I think the first time I ever heard Dido was with the opening song of Roswell (That’s a LOOONG time ago… I feel old). I can’t remember the show that much (only that it was sci-fi), but the song stuck in my head.

I didn’t get the No Angel album, for some inexplicable reason, but I do have Life for Rent and Safe Trip Home.

Dido’s music is phenomenal. It speaks to me on so many levels emotionally. I always listen to Dido when I’m feeling sad or melancholic.

I really can’t wait for Girl Who Got Away‘s release! Here is the first single, “No Freedom” that’s going to be released from the new album:

It’s so BEAUTIFUL!!!

Next up is news from the book world. Well, news that interests me at least. It’s new books from Patrick Ness and Neil Gaiman.

via Goodreads

Patrick Ness is probably one of the people that I can say has changed my life forever. It may sound a little silly and a bit of an exaggeration, but I really do mean it. His Chaos Walking series changed the whole game for me and it was the first time I loved a writer for his writing style. Sure I have liked books before this one, but it’s the first time I became a fan of a specific author.

One day, one day, I will find Patrick Ness and beg him for his autograph! He might fight to get away from me, but once I have him in my grip, I will NEVER let go!!!

Woah! I sound like a violent stalker person… scary…

Craziness aside, I seriously can’t wait for Ness’s (I am still confused with the apostrophe deal with words that end with an “s”) new book The Crane Wife.

Here is a synopsis from Goodreads:

The extraordinary happens every day…

One night, George Duncan – decent man, a good man – is woken by a noise in his garden. Impossibly, a great white crane has tumbled to earth, shot through its wing by an arrow. Unexpectedly moved, George helps the bird, and from the moment he watches it fly off, his life is transformed.

The next day, a kind but enigmatic woman walks into George’s shop. Suddenly a new world opens up for George, and one night she starts to tell him the most extraordinary story.

Wise, romantic, magical and funny, The Crane Wife is a hymn to the creative imagination and a celebration of the disruptive and redemptive power of love.

I love that first line, “The extraordinary happens every day”! These days I love books that look at how fascinating things can happen at any time of our lives.

The Crane Wife is expected to release in April this year. I really can’t wait!!! AAAARGH!!! MUST HAVE IT!!!

Ahem… I should really control myself!

via Goodreads

Neil Gaiman is also a person who has influenced me heavily in the way I think about stories. Both Ness and Gaiman has taught me about the soul of a story. Gaiman specifically taught me about the soul of a short story.

My friends don’t really know of Ness, but, because they had English 178 with me last year, they know Gaiman and have an opinion of him. It’s all very mixed those opinions. Some like him, and some don’t.

The reasons why people don’t like him range from understandable to just plain silly and stupid.

I’m obviously among those that love him to bits! If I could stalk him, I could, but I live in South Africa. Nothing to stalk here, really. I just want his book now so that I can smell it and feel high on books and then explode from pure awesomeness. His new book is called The Ocean at the End of the Lane. Awesome title! Awesome cover! Awesomesauce!!!

Here is a synopsis from Goodreads (look here, I’m really lazy to paraphrase, so get over my copy-paste-scheme):

THE OCEAN AT THE END OF THE LANE is a fable that reshapes modern fantasy: moving, terrifying and elegiac – as pure as a dream, as delicate as a butterfly’s wing, as dangerous as a knife in the dark, from storytelling genius Neil Gaiman.

It began for our narrator forty years ago when the family lodger stole their car and committed suicide in it, stirring up ancient powers best left undisturbed. Dark creatures from beyond the world are on the loose, and it will take everything our narrator has just to stay alive: there is primal horror here, and menace unleashed – within his family and from the forces that have gathered to destroy it.

His only defense is three women, on a farm at the end of the lane. The youngest of them claims that her duckpond is an ocean. The oldest can remember the Big Bang.

This sounds really weird and awesome! Exactly what I want from Gaiman! 😀 The Ocean at the End of the Lane is scheduled to be released in June this year, which is way too long to wait for!

Hyper Excite-ism! Lalalalalaaaaa!!!

That’s all news I have for you guys. It was a very interesting day! I feel even more inspired to write now! The only problem is that I’m so hungry now I’m going to faint on my keyboard while Gwen Stefani screams into my ear that I’m a stupid hoe.

Do you guys have any other news I should be excited about? I really like hearing stuff that excites me! 🙂

Have a great and inspiration filled week!

Dante…

About Gay Idiot

I'm a gay idiot, but somehow I am making it through this jungle called life. I have no idea what I'm doing!!
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

