It came to me in a dream

For a long time I believed that I didn’t have any dreams anymore, because I just wouldn’t remember anything, but then last night something amazing happened. I had an amazing dream! I almost couldn’t believe it, but it happened. When I woke up I made sure, before I did anything else, to run the events through in my head and try to remember as much as I possibly can.

This process only reminded me what messed up dreams I have. I don’t dream like a normal person, where the narrative structure makes some sort of sense. I dream like an art film where the director changes the story every five minutes. Most of the things that go on in my head in the first place are inexplicable, so I guess a crazy dream isn’t really strange at all.

However, the best part of this dreaming experience was that I managed to get a really cool idea for a story that I may or may not be writing in the short-term. Yay! I’ve been waiting for an idea like this for a really long time. And now it came to me, IN A DREAM! If this is not destiny or fate then I don’t know what the hell this is!

Because I can possibly write an awesome story with this idea, I’m not going to reveal the dream. Why would I do that? I’m not going to let someone write a story from my dream! No way!

There is a slight problem though. This “slight” problem does have the potential to be a big problem, which makes me sacred. Some elements of my dream resemble closely to a book I’ve read about a year ago (really amazing book!). This makes me scared that it might be a little too similar, but it has nothing to do with the story elements or the character elements, so it’s not plagiarism. Only certain elements are the same, so I just have to wangle my dream around so it’s not too similar.

Okay, the last statement sounded like I’m trying to copy, BUT I’M NOT! In the end, I’ve actually got to write the story to see if it will actually be similar.

Dreams are actually a great source of inspiration for many stories. The dream realm is a place where the mind can be free to explore and do what you subconsciously want to do. Some ideas will be pure gold, but others will be a little questionable. Take Twilight for example, Stephanie Meyer came with the idea for her saga in a dream. (Note: if you happen to like the books, then fine by me, I’m just going on what other people have told me, so sorry if I offended you)

Now I need to start planning… Soon my creation shall walk the earth…

Dante

 

Now I’m going to keep a dream journal for more golden nugget ideas!

About Gay Idiot

I'm a gay idiot, but somehow I am making it through this jungle called life. I have no idea what I'm doing!!
This entry was posted in Writer things... and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

