New Webcomic in the Pipeline

Hi everybody!

This is probably the most exciting news I have given you guys in (what feels like) a lifetime. I just wanted to show you guys that I have been doing something these last couple of days that I’ve been inactive.

The Webcomic will be called “It and Them” and is a B&W comic about “It” leaving his home to discover the world around him and his role in it while being confronted by “Them” and the different challenges they present. That’s the gist of it. It’s a coming-of-age comic that is partly based on my own experiences in university.

Beginning

A small sample

I know that the artwork seems very simple (anyone can draw this), but it’s all I can manage in my current work climate. The major reason why I chose this style (I am capable of drawing more “difficult” things, ya know?) is that I want to show that even when the art is simple, a strong message can still be conveyed. The comic will also have no spoken dialogue, and therefore relies on visual cues and placement of imagery.

I must say, having a comic with no words is incredibly and excruciatingly difficult to do. This means my planning takes forever since I have to take into account what the placement of sequences and imagery will communicate to the reader. The actual drawing is not such a hassle, since the style is somewhat simple and cartoony, so it shouldn’t take too long.

I have learnt a lot from my failed/stupid/miserable webcomic from long time ago (too long ago, it’s very embarrassing), so I’m not going to make the same mistakes. For starters, I am actually planning my comic WAY ahead than I usually do. I already have the first three pages planned, but will probably only post a page when I have 20 pages planned out.

Ugh… I can’t believe how stupid I was with my first webcomic.

Anyway, I’ll keep you guys updated with my progress with this webcomic. I’m very excited about it, and hopefully you guys will be as well. The first page will probably be posted mid-October somewhere. I still have a lot of planning to do.

Like I said, I’ll keep you guys posted! 🙂

Dante…

About Gay Idiot

I'm a gay idiot, but somehow I am making it through this jungle called life. I have no idea what I'm doing!!
This entry was posted in Art Things, Comic and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Webcomic in the Pipeline

  1. Zen A. says:

    Exciting! 😀 I actually really do like the art style. You don’t need to be overly complicated to get a joke/message across. I’ve seen some great webcomics succeed with really simply art!

    Good luck, Dante! I can’t wait to hear more about this.

Leave a Reply

