Life on a Farm

I don’t like farms. I can’t really remember a time when I did like farms. Since my grandparents had a farm, we would always come and visit on the farm. With each visit I grew more and more adamant that I would never live on a farm. Farm life might be perfect for some people, but not for me. I will never live on a farm. I don’t understand people who would want to (like my sister). And now I find myself sitting on a porch of my uncle’s farm.

20131230-103052.jpg

My uncle is going to get married soon (in March, I think) and now my parents have decided to come visit him for a few days and meet the new soon-to-be family member. Apart from the farm, I don’t like family gatherings. It tends to get hyper-emotional and there is always some family member who wants me to answer a thousand questions on what I’m going to do for the rest of my life. If you really want to know, I only have the next 2 or 3 years planned, and it’s basically just me studying. I have no idea what I’m going to do after my studies. Anyway, not the point of this post.

I realize that people have a very romantic notion of farm life. They always go on about how calm and serene it is on the farm. Yeah, it’s serene and all that jazz, but it’s hard work living on a farm. Farmers work a lot! City people have it easy. Living on a farm is also extremely boring. If you’ve never fully experienced city-life before, then you’ll do fine. For me, however, living on a farm is like waiting to die. I feel so disconnected from everything, and I like to know what is going on. Thank goodness my uncle has wifi, otherwise I’d go insane.

Okay, living on a farm is probably not as bad as I make it out to be, it’s just not for me. What irritates me a lot is when people think I’m crazy when I don’t like farms. My dad especially gets irritated with me when I don’t like the outdoors and farms and stuff and says: “It’s nice. You must enjoy it.” As if by simply telling me it’s nice will change anything. And farm people must stop criticizing city people. Each side has its ups and downs.

The worst thing about a farm is the amount of insects there are everywhere! I hate insects! They scare me.

Anyway, this post was just something to cure my boredom and expel some of the frustration I’m currently feeling. We’re going those on Friday and then things can get back to normal.

Can’t wait for normal.

About Gay Idiot

I'm a gay idiot, but somehow I am making it through this jungle called life. I have no idea what I'm doing!!
This entry was posted in Life Stuff, Rant and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

