Sometimes I wonder…

I’ve got this blog for more than a year now. It doesn’t feel like it because of my sporadic nature in posting stuff, but I’ve had this specific blog for a long time. And even though I’ve posted various things on here, I have no real idea what to do with it. Should it be a review blog? Should I write about popular issues and my opinions on it? Should I just switch to tumblr (because that’s what all the “cool” kids do nowadays)? These are just a few questions I ask myself. I had a quick peak at my “About” page and I can see I was being as vague as ever when I wrote it.

Anyway, the purpose of this blog is not the purpose of this post. I was checking my dashboard just now, for some arbitrary reason, to find the only thing more sporadic than my posting patterns is the view-count of my blog. The days I post something are the days I get a peak in my views, which is to be expected (since most of my days show 0 views), but then there are days where I haven’t done anything in a while and I still get some views.When I get these views, I just wonder “where the hell are you all coming from?”

Don’t get me wrong, I love getting views! If I didn’t get any views, I think I would’ve stopped blogging months ago. I’m just really REALLY surprised, since I get views from the most random countries. Today I had a view from Japan of all places. Some people also seem to be searching for me, which is probably the most confusing (well, I guess they were searching for me since they searched “daunte’s writings”).

Look, a screenshot of the stats of today!

I’m really conflicted about which country made the spelling mistake…

If you’re wondering how I know all this, then you obviously underestimate the power of the internet. No, I’m not a super hacker, WordPress has a nifty Stats page where I can see all sorts of things.

I must be doing something right if they’re looking for me. However, I mostly think these views are flukes and that there is some “Daunte” that is missing a viewer. These comments might be self-deprecating (a term a learnt thanks to reality TV), but it’s better than being all egotistical about it.

Also, it would be better for me to believe I have an audience if they communicated with me every once in a while. But I think I have to be a better blogger first. I can’t just wish for miracles. I also need a more defined aim for this blog. I like reviewing, so I’ll keep it (I just need to do it more frequently). I don’t watch enough news to comment on relevant issues, so that I can ignore. I should also explore more blogs (I’m reading 3 at the moment, so that’s a start), because a blogger needs to be involved in the community.

It’s all good this talking and planning, but it will be better if I actually DO it! It’s only through doing that I will get where I want to be. And by keeping focus and not veering off-course (which I think I already did).

I also probably need to post more pics or stuff… People like that…

[big flowery signature]

Dante.

About Gay Idiot

I'm a gay idiot, but somehow I am making it through this jungle called life. I have no idea what I'm doing!!
This entry was posted in Life Stuff, Rant and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

