I’ve apparently been nominated for this thing called a Liebster Award…

I’m not really one for weird chain letter things, because I usually don’t care about it and sometimes it needs me to work in the process. Usually I have other work waiting for me, so more work is not what I want. Sometimes a chain letter is absolutely annoying (*reads the chain letter* “I’m pretty sure I won’t die in 5 days if I don’t pass this on…”) or they can be quite interesting, as is the case with this one.

I must admit this is the second time I’m awarded this thing called the Liebster Award, but when I first got it I was extremely lazy and so forgot about it. This time I’ll try to play along, because it might be fun. I was nominated this time by Greendeath Writings. Go check him out, because he obviously did a lot of effort with his response, so he deserves more readers.

Here are the rules:

Looks simple, right? So let’s do this…

11 Random Facts about ME!

  1. My favourite foods are Chocolate and Strawberries. Together they are just like an orgasm. Food orgasms are nice.
  2. I have Adult ADHD. It’s like normal ADHD, but the adult kind. Apparently the reason why it was never detected as a child was that I did really good at school, so no one minded when I spaced out or couldn’t sit still.
  3. 80% of my T-shirts are black, 10% of them are dark grey, 5% are white and 5% are in a colour other than black, grey or white. I just don’t like wearing something other than black or grey, because black is easy, goes with anything and is emotionally ambiguous. When I wear a certain colour, it feels like I’m emotionally restrained to that colour for the entire day!
  4. I prefer anime with the English dubbing. I know this is a pretty unpopular opinion to have in the world of the anime fandom, but it’s a matter of preference. I’m extremely fascinated by the world of voice-acting, so I prefer watching the English dubs, because it, with the whole process, is an art form. Tiffany Grant’s Asuka in Neon Genesis Evangelion still gives me goosebumps.

    Oh Asuka… I love you!

  5. A tomato is, for me personally, a vegetable. I know it’s technically a fruit, but it’s useless giving it that label. We don’t treat it like a fruit, because you don’t expect a tomato to feature in a fruit salad. We plant it like a vegetable, it grows like a vegetable and we eat it like a vegetable. Therefore, it’s a fucking vegetable!
  6. I can’t dance to save my life. If “the retarded chicken” was a dance, I would be the pioneer of it and have a whole music video dedicated to me making everybody awkward to death.
  7. I suck at being economic with words. As you’ve probably realised by now, I don’t know how to keep things short and sweet. I think this stems from my fear of being misinterpreted, so I use as many words as I can to carry my meaning across.
  8. My  favourite number is 8. Visually, it’s an absolutely fascinating number. It’s also the number for August, which is my birthday month. The best month of the year! My second favourite number would be 5.
  9. I write for my University’s student newspaper, Die Matie. I write for the entertainment section, so I cover music, art, books and film. Most of them are reviews, but sometimes I go to cover an event.
  10. My Japanese name would be Firripu. There’s a website where you can convert your name to how it would be pronounced in Japanese. So, apparently Phillip becomes Firripu.

    This is Phillip (Firripu) in Japanese

  11. When I do my PhD in English Literature, eventually, my thesis will be about the influence of Eastern Anime on Western Culture, and vice versa. I love anime and I love English Literature, so combining the two loves will hopefully inspire a new way we look at anime and our cartoons.

Wow. That took slightly longer than I thought it would, but it was actually kinda fun. This is basically me in some sort of nutshell. Now it’s onto those 11 questions!

11 Questions from the Nominator:

  1. What kind of music do you listen to while writing, if any at all? It all depends on what I’m writing. Usually I try to find music that fits the mood of what I’m writing. At the moment I’m listening to Kongos’ Lunatic and Arctic Monkeys’ AM. When I’m writing a story, it again depends on the mood, but soundtracks are more prominent here, especially Eureka seveN‘s (an epic anime) soundtrack.
  2. What is it about writing that keeps you going even if you’re not sure you want to continue? According to Mikhail Bakhtin, all language is dialogic in nature, even if it seems quite monologue. I keep writing, because I’m in dialogue with myself. It helps me to formulate my thoughts and make it concrete. My mind shifts continually, so writing them down allows me to keep a train of thought. Therefore when I’m writing stories and creating worlds, I’m actually in conversation with the reader and myself about my opinions, which allows us to understand the world around us more.
  3. Who is your favourite author? Definitely Patrick Ness, author of the Chaos Walking Trilogy and More Than This. He’s an insanely creative writer when it comes to language. How he uses it makes me so excited! He creates rich worlds and characters with very little, expertly crafted language!
  4. What genre do you read but swear you will never write? I read what I’d like to write, so this doesn’t apply. When I was young, I always thought I was just going to write fantasy and sci-fi. The notion of writing drama or using the real world was very foreign to me, but two authors drastically changed this. First was Malorie Blackman, who taught me the value of using real, and sometimes broken, characters, and how everyone is flawed to an extent. Next was Jodi Picoult, who showed me that real life is sometimes more exciting than fantasy. She also showed the intricate universe of human relationships – this made me realise how fascinating humans are.
  5. What do you do when you tell yourself something along the lines of ”I’ll only procrastinate a little longer”? Sadly enough, I play Solitaire or FreeCell on my laptop. I play them when I just want to be distracted for a little while. I know they’re pretty lame, but it’s my life, dammit! I also make tea, preferably Earl Grey or Rooibos.
  6. What get’s you right into that writing mood and how do you keep it that way? I have not yet mastered the art of getting myself in the mood. I’m motivated or I’m not, but sometimes I still need to write regardless of how I feel about it. When I am writing and writing well, then I keep it that way by pacing every 10 minutes around my apartment, so I can get my brain juices flowing again, and to keep myself from being distracted.
  7. Favourite series and favourite standalone? Favourite series would be the Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness. Favourite standalone changes continually, but at the moment it is To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf.
  8. Have you ever screwed up your sleeping schedule because of a book, was it worth it and what was it? Well, my sleeping schedule is always screwed up because of academics, but I’ve never screwed it up with a book. I always read when I go to sleep, so losing a bit of sleep because of it is normal for me.
  9. What do you do to remember ideas that you are unable to write down? I associate the ideas with images. I think how would this idea be represented visually and that usually helps until I get to my little book of ideas. Using the images also allows me to judge if it’s a good idea or not.
  10. Are there any books or series that you thought were great and then the ending just ruined everything for you? No, and I doubt there will be one any time soon. Because I study English Literature, I take the book as a whole, in it’s own existence. It’s not about what I get from a book, but what the book is trying to do in its existence. If a book ends a certain way, there is usually a very good reason for this. Some readers must let go of the notion that books solely exist to entertain them. It’s a really silly notion, and does not allow literature to progress and evolve. Having that notion is why we have a million vampire-related books and series.
  11. Why do you write? I write for various reasons. Many write as a from of escaping. I write to remove people from their comfort zones, in order for them to engage with the world around them and to think critically about it. Staying in your comfort zones is no good to anybody, not even yourself. Yes, escaping is good every now and again, but it’s important to be removed from it in order for you to grow as a person and to understand yourself more. That is why many of my stories focus on identity, human relationships and how we position ourselves in the world.

I hope I’ve answered the answers nicely. I spent way too much time on it. It was actually kinda fun! I’m just happy there weren’t more questions. I can spend the whole day answering questions.

Now I’m supposed to tag 11 bloggers with less than 200 followers. This is very difficult for me, because I don’t know of 11 bloggers. I’m not really involved in the community of bloggers, as you can tell, so I’m going to have to be a bit deviant. I don’t care if you have more than 200 followers, if you do, just accept the damn thing. I’ll obviously try and see if these people haven’t received the reward yet.

11 Nominations:

  1. Danuscript
  2. Allenfiction
  3. LeBohemianWriter
  4. CityStateWritings

Okay, I seriously don’t know of 11 bloggers and most of the people following me are pseudo-motivational writers, write about making money or don’t exist anymore. I don’t care if I’m breaking the rules, you can’t force me to be like a friggin’ teenage girl and nominate the first 11 people I see; I feel bad enough by actually doing this.

Nominated people, I’m not gonna change the questions. You can also tag as many people as you feel like, maximum being 11. Please link back to this post.

Now let me go back into my cave…

 

Dante…

About Gay Idiot

I'm a gay idiot, but somehow I am making it through this jungle called life. I have no idea what I'm doing!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

